Meet your CIT Symposium Blogger

August 2, 2009 at 1:39 pm 1 comment

Greetings from your CIT (Center for Innovative Teaching) blogger. My name is Chris Bigenho and I will be joining you on this journey over the next three days. I just arrived in San Francisco and checked into the Inn 1890. What a cool place! I am currently sitting at a table next to the Inn’s computer where, in the last ten minutes, there has been a steady stream of guests stepping up and checking: news, e-mail, cricket scores and now Facebook. Let this be just a small example of the connected world we live in and our seemingly endless need to connect with others over great distances and keep up with the happenings from around the globe.

Now, a little about me. I am the Director of Educational Technology at Greenhill School in Addison, Texas. Addison is a small town that sits in the North Dallas area bounded by Dallas, Farmers Branch and Carrolton. Greenhill is a coed non-denominational college-prep independent day school in the Dallas area. Our community consists of approximately 1250 k-12 students on approximately 74 acres. I am going on my 14th year on The Hill which must mean I really like the place as this is the longest I have been in any one place. Besides working with students, faculty and staff with all things relating to teaching and learning with technology, I teach a course each trimester for the upper school science department. This year I will be teaching Biotechnology, The Physics of Sports, and Introduction to Astronomy.

Currently, I am a doctoral student at the University of North Texas in the Learning Technologies department studying educational technology and cognitive systems. My research interests broadly follow four paths- teacher professional development through action research, teaching and learning with emerging technologies, cognitive aspects of learning with technology and games as learning environments.

I live in Wylie Texas with my wife and two children. My daughter attends Greenhill and will be in the 6th grade this year. My son will be a 7th grader at Shelton School which is approximately 5 miles from Greenhill. Each is really enjoying their respective educational experiences and my hope is they will continue to love learning and turn it into a life habit. My wife is the associate provost at the University of Texas, Dallas. She is also very involved in technology.

I am providing a link to a few additional items so you can learn more about my background, epistemic stance, ontological perspective and online ramblings. It is my hope that I will get to know all of you over the next three days as we explore many new technologies, pedagogies, philosophies together on this journey provided by the Center for Innovative Teaching at The Urban School.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Setting Up Dawn breaks on day 1 of the Integrated Tech Symposium

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Héctor Carsolio  |  August 3, 2009 at 7:56 am

    (I’m posting again, it seems it didn’t get through)

    Hello Chris, I work at the Peterson Schools in Mexico City http://www.peterson.edu.mx, I’m in charge of science,math and recently appointed coordinator of technology, in charge of developing the applcation of technology for teaching-learnng. I must have met you about 3 years ago in an ISAS Dean’s Conference in Dallas (about technology-at the Hockaday School), or in an ISAS certification visit at Ursuline Academy in Dallas as well, 2 years ago… Did I?
    Anyway, I wanted to touch base with you… I’ll follow these days’ symposium and maybe in the future we could get in contact.
    Thanks and good luck in the symposium!

    Héctor Carsolio

    hcarsolio@peterson.edu.mx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



